Roses in vineyards

Roses2Have you ever… wondered why roses are or were grown in vineyards?

One often sees roses planted at the end of rows of vines in vineyards. Yet, this seems a rather silly place to plant something that is considered a garden plant.

When I Roses1saw it again recently, I decided that I needed to find out the reason behind the practice.

Apparently, rose bushes are very good indicators of problems that may be emerging in the vineyard. Powdery and downy mildews are easy to see on roses and act as a warning to the vigneron that there may soon be an issue with the vines too.

Roses3

With all the modern treatments that are available to manage the mildews, roses may no longer be so important, but they are still pretty to look at, and do make a nice vineyard colourful too!

This entry was posted in Have you ever..., Musings and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

14 Responses to Roses in vineyards

  1. Oh my gosh. I hadn’t heard of roses in vineyards. Fascinating. Thanks for sharing. Who knew? o_O

    Like

    • Madoqua says:

      Perhaps they don’t do it in the US (I think it is a dated practice), but one still sees roses in some vineyards in Australia and Europe. I think maybe no one has bothered to remove them! And they are quite pretty!

      Liked by 1 person

      • Not that I’ve been to many vineyards to begin with. I drink the wine; I don’t care where they make it. 😀 😀 😀

        Like

        • Madoqua says:

          I love the look of the vineyards in summer. The vines with their big leaves look so cool and fresh.
          They make places like the south of France look lush and green in early spring.

          Like

          • I live in wine country (Niagara wine country in Canada — that’s right Niagara Falls region), but haven’t gone on any tours in years.

            Liked by 1 person

          • Madoqua says:

            Perhaps we both need to head to New Zealand for a wine tasting trip! By the sounds of what the other folks have had to say in response to this post, I certainly have some serious ‘catching up’ to do when it comes to NZ wines!

            Like

          • The new popular wines here are Australian and African. Canada made darn fine wines as well. If I like it, I don’t care who makes it, but I will raise a glass to them.
            Haven’t heard a lot about NZ wines here. Yet. 😀

            Like

  2. scrapydo2.wordpress.com says:

    Very interesting about the mildew. Sounds a good way to find it in an early stage by using roses.

    Like

  3. pommepal says:

    They do produce some very good wines in NZ Madoqua, they are gaining quite good reports too.
    http://www.newzealandatoz.com/index.php?pageid=398 That is a very good idea with the roses and also very attractive.

    Like

  4. This is done at most of the vineyards here in New Zealand. NZ produces some awesome wines. It is a fallacy that it only rains and is cold in NZ.

    Like

    • Madoqua says:

      Denise, thank you for your comment. Pommepal also brought it to my attention that wine is produced in NZ. I am very keen to try some – I am sure it will be lovely. I apologise if it sounded as if I was making NZ out to be cold and wet, that was not my intention at all. I think it is one of the most beautiful places in the world and I have enjoyed a lot of great weather there. I was under the impression that grapes needed quite a hot summer, but obviously this is not the case 🙂

      Like

This space is for you.....

