Have you ever…. had issues with photo sizes?

I live in an area on the edge of a medium sized city, where many ‘in town’ inhabitants have good access to the internet. However, despite many political promises, it seems that our district is stuck with inadequate online capability and will be for some time.

Those of you who have ‘unlimited’ internet upload and download access – and more critically, have FAST internet, please know that I am extremely jealous 🙂

Which brings me to the subject of this post. I am interested to know how many bloggers cut down the size of their photos before uploading them to their blog? I have just tried to upload a 3.5MB image to my WordPress site and it uploaded with no problems, however, it took a long time. Most of the images I use on my blogs are approximately 100kb in size, which seems to be quite suitable for internet viewing. Has anyone had any issues with the quality of the images on my posts?

98 kB image (500 x 375 pixels)

98 kB image (500 x 375 pixels)

228 kB image (800 x 600 pixels)

228 kB image (800 x 600 pixels)

If I had to upload all my photos at full size, it would take forever and I am sure I would be cursed by readers who similarly, have slow download rates. I have frequently found wonderful blog sites which I would love to follow, but due to the size and quantity of the photos on each post, I simply gave up.

I have recently found some software which watermarks and downsizes (to a user defined size) images rather nicely (“Photosizer”, by Giant Moose). This will save me quite a bit of time, as I previously had to do each step individually.

What does everyone else do/use? And if you don’t downsize your images, do you limit the quantity, bearing in mind that some of us internet users have issues with large downloads and you may be turning away potential followers? Do you post images directly from your phone or tablet without resizing?

I have never used a poll before, but it would be fun and interesting to see how everyone approaches their image management.

This entry was posted in Have you ever..., Musings and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

13 Responses to Have you ever…. had issues with photo sizes?

  1. cocoaupnorth says:

    Hi Madoqua, I always resize my images. I have also come across interesting blogs that I would like to comment or like but have images that take forever to open that I eventually give up and move on.

    Like

    • Madoqua says:

      That’s interesting Cocoa. I thought I was the one of those people who just had bad luck when it came to internet access. But maybe it’s more that. Perhaps WordPress should put a megabyte limit on posts, or at least a warning when bloggers go past a certain size.
      But I’m pleaseed to know I am not the only one to have bypassed blogs and posts due to their size.

      Like

  2. scrapydo says:

    I re-size all my photos and put them in their own file. When I need to make copies or want to use them for something else I’ll use the original size. I use faststone re-sizer

    Like

  3. Colline says:

    Whenever i look at your pictures, the quality seems fine to me.

    Like

  4. macmsue says:

    I abandon sites which have large photos and take ages to load. The worst are ones where the large image seems to be the “header” but takes up the full screen. I set my images to about 640 X 480 pixels and choose a resolution that keeps them well below 100kb. I find if the original image is good the small files are good. The quality of your images seems fine to me.

    Like

    • Madoqua says:

      Thanks for the welcome feedback!
      It seems that a few people have come across blog sites with very large images, so they must be reasonably common.
      I have also found sites where many, many photos are added per post – 20 or more. I wonder if the person posting them really thinks that their viewers will scroll to the bottom? 🙂

      Like

  5. macmsue says:

    Maybe I’m just toooo impatient but I prefer just a few photos per post unless it’s a travel piece and has captions so I know what they are about.

    Like

  6. pommepal says:

    I always downsize my photos using fotosizer, it is fast, free and reliable. I always put a copy of the photos I want to use in a post in a separate folder on the desk top before downsizing, I never work on the originals. fotosizer takes them to about 100kb. Then when I have finished the post I bin the resized ones.

    Your photos quality on this post are good.

    Like

This space is for you.....

