Goanna up a gum tree!

Goanna2

Trying to be invisible – the Goanna has flattened itself on the tree trunk, trying to blend with the bark.

When one thinks of Australian fauna, the animals that come immediately to mind are Koalas, Kangaroos and Wallabies. For those who prefer critters with feathers, there are also many beautiful birds to enjoy. However, an animal which is not generally readily identified with Australia is the Goanna.

Goannas are actually large lizards (getting up to about 1.5m in length), and although they look quite formidable, are shy and do not enjoy generally enjoy human attention.

I have been lucky to see quite a few, usually they are spotted when crossing a road, before scurrying up the nearest tree and away out of perceived harm.

Today we were driving out of a local national park and came across this specimen, also known as Lace Monitor. True to form, it was not overly impressed by being photographed, but we enjoyed watching it for a while, before leaving it in peace.

Large sharp claws make climbing trees a breeze.

Large sharp claws make climbing trees a breeze. Taken with a good zoom lens!

Can you spot the Goanna? This one is called a Lace Monitor.

Can you spot the Goanna? This particular one which we saw today is called a Lace Monitor.

Did you know that we had Goannas in Australia? Have you ever seen one or any other big lizard like it?

This entry was posted in Australia, Have you ever..., Wildlife and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

18 Responses to Goanna up a gum tree!

  1. scrapydo says:

    Wow, you were very lucky to photograph it like this. Thanks for sharing this moment again

    Like

  2. fishwords says:

    You did really well to spot the goanna up that tree!

    _____

    Like

  3. I have never come across anything about Goannas before. I Googled the name and was surprised to read it is a close relative of Komodo dragons. Dragons? Now this is getting interesting! 😀 To my disappointment, the dragon I had visualized isn’t what I found. My imagination veered waayy off the path. 😛
    Thanks for this trivia I would never have had the opportunity to read without your post.

    Like

  4. Colline says:

    These lizards are huge. So interesting to see.

    Like

  5. restlessjo says:

    Great close-up! I rather like lizards but I’ve only seen fairly small ones. 🙂

    Like

  6. macmsue says:

    Nice shot. I’ve only seen them in the Northern Territory. I know people see different dragons down south but I haven’t been lucky enough, or maybe just not observant enough to see any yet.

    Like

  7. Sue Slaght says:

    1.5 meters?! That’s amazing and thanks for showing me!

    Like

    • Madoqua says:

      Yes, they are amazingly BIG lizards! I am hoping to eventually have one or two move into my large garden – I have seen a few Goannas in our district, so this could happen 🙂

      Like

This space is for you.....

