Strange object on wheels

When travelling, there is no doubt that if you wish to see a place ‘up close and personal’, then you should be walking or on a bicycle. Many unusual and quirky things are to be found along roadsides and off road trails, but one needs time to spot them!

We came across this very strange and intriguing item while cycling along a canal in France. I was fascinated 🙂  Peering inside the grill at the end did not help me work out what it was – it appeared to be some sort of caravan, however, nothing inside seemed to verify this theory.

Mysterious item

Mysterious item

My curiosity was not satisfied until we returned the following evening to find it being well used by a single occupant! Do you know what this is? Would you like to have a guess?

Mysterious item

Closeup detail of the ‘doorway’

This entry was posted in Favourite things, France and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

16 Responses to Strange object on wheels

  1. I can’t begin to guess. It is most unusual. At first I thought it had something to do with a plane but scratched that. Now I’m scratching my head. 🙂

    Like

  2. cocoaupnorth says:

    Very innovative I must say. Who would have thought of it as a mobile kitchen? Interesting find:)

    Like

    • Madoqua says:

      I am not sure where they ‘found’ it, but perhaps it was specially made. It certainly fits with the old diving suits and old fashioned deep water helmets that are inside the bar/restaurant. I was very impressed by the decor of the place.

      Like

  3. This looks like a prop from the “Lost” series. When I first saw it, I thought it’s part of a submarine.

    Like

    • Madoqua says:

      You are right! Once I realised what the rest of the décor was, it fitted that it was one end of a submarine! But on its own, I had no idea. Being on wheels threw mw as well.

      Like

  4. pommepal says:

    I would never have guessed what it was. It must be very hot cooking inside that metal structure, hope they have air-con in there.

    Like

This space is for you.....

