Have you ever… forgotten where you took that photo?

I have lots of photos, which I am sure is something most of us have nowadays. With the advent of the digital age, it has become delightfully easy to snap away at least a few shots of each item of interest.

I especially love taking photos when I am on the road, and when cycling, the opportunities are just endless. The downside of having so many photos though, is that I often cannot remember exactly where I saw that bridge/plant/specimen of butterfly.

I have looked into the option of getting a camera with a built in GPS (Global Positioning System) similar to that which is now found in many phones. It seems they are available, but I was advised against getting one, as the cameras sometimes do not update their GPS data quickly enough to get an accurate positional reading when a photo opportunity arises. Phones tend to keep themselves updated, but I want photos that have a bit more to them than what I can get with a phone.

Crocodile Bridge Rest Camp in Kruger National Park. This was easy to georeference after my visit. Not so easy all the animal sightings in the Park!

Crocodile Bridge Rest Camp in Kruger National Park. This was easy to georeference after my visit. Not so easy all the animal sightings in the Park!

The solution was actually quite easy in the finish. I purchased a small GPS receiver which now goes with me on my travels. It is light, battery powered and I am told the rechargeable battery lasts for a day or more (however, I bought a spare battery anyway – better safe than sorry :-)). It also has a device which plugs into a power outlet on my car dashboard to recharge that way.

The idea is that the travel recorder logs your route against the time of day. Cameras also log the time of day and include this in their metadata (or background information) for each photo. Once your trip is over, all that needs to be done is to use your computer to marry up each photo with its location based on the time it was taken. I purchased the software to do this when I got the receiver.

I have tried this process a few times now, and I am absolutely delighted with the outcome. From now on, all my travel photos will be easily pinned to their source destination! Not only that, but using the software I purchased, I can also go back and geo-reference photos many years after the event, such as the one above, taken at Kruger.

This entry was posted in Have you ever..., Travel and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

This space is for you.....

