Have you ever…. leant your bike against an old wall?

In Australia, we consider a building to be ‘old’ if it was constructed 200 years ago. In France, this age is considered to be a rather ‘new’ construction and not really anything special.

However, even the French consider the archway in the photo below to be extra special. You see, it is part of the Pont du Gard (the Gard river bridge) and those big stones were put there about 40AD. This bridge is nearly 2000 years old! It was built by the Romans for a special purpose which will be the topic of a later post.

My touring bike leaning against a 2000 year old wall  - the Pont du Gard.

My touring bike leaning against a 2000 year old wall – the Pont du Gard.

I have a fascination for very old human-made constructions. Those that have ‘seen’ people of many generations and nationalities, nice behaviours and not so nice, so many different and diverse customs. For this reason, I thought it was a nice idea to lean my touring bike against this very old wall, so that my bike and I are now also part of what this old bridge has ‘seen’ during its incredible lifetime – part of its extensive story.

What is the oldest place you have ever parked your bike/car? Was it special for you too?

This entry was posted in France, Have you ever..., Musings, Travel and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to Have you ever…. leant your bike against an old wall?

  1. Absolutely amazing that this structure is so old. I found it incredible to find a world globe in Denmark showing only the west coast of Australia. It was to be more than 200 years old before Australia was even discovered. But then there are churches from 11th century in many places around Denmark. That must be the oldest man made structure I’ve encountered. Great post!

    Like

  2. I’ve never parked a vehicle anywhere that ancient, but I felt the same sense of awe that you describe when I went to the temple of Bayon in Cambodia. It was like I had stumbled into the past. Truly humbling experience.

    Like

This space is for you.....

