FreeWheeling

I took this photo recently and I love it. To me it is the ultimate in cycling freedom.

Going places, Paris style.

Going places, Paris style.

The photo was captured in Paris but is a common sight in many parts of France. Aside from the recommendation that you have a bike of some sort and a good quality chain to lock it up, there are few other requirements to get yourself cycling just about anywhere.

No one cares what sort of bike you ride – as long as it gets you where you need to go. There are some bits and bobs that make the whole thing a lot more practical however. A bell makes a lot of sense – how else do you warn people you are coming behind them? A basket? Naturally. It is practical and it is surprising how much it can carry! And this goes for the guys as well as the girls. Mudguards (fenders)? Common sense, really, in a place where it rains a lot. And what about your clothes? Well, in France, it’s simple – just wear what you have on when you decide to go out. (And because helmets are not compulsory, one can wear large earrings and a fancy hairdo if the mood takes you!).

So the preparations to ride somewhere are minimal. Get the bike out, toss a few things into the basket and away you go.

Where I live, it is definitely not ‘cool’ to have a basket, luggage rack or mudguards on your bike. And few people seem to venture out on rides without their trendy cycling jerseys, knicks and clip-in-shoes. (Don’t get me wrong, I don’t mind if this is the gear they feel most comfortable riding in – they are welcome!). Perhaps the difference between where I live and Paris, is that most people who cycle in Paris are easy-going cyclists like the lady in my photo, whereas the majority of people who cycle in my district are doing fitness training.

However, I do look forward to the day when I can just grab my ordinary bike with a basket on the front, a classic old fashioned bike bell attached to my nondescript handlebars and cycle to the local grocery shop without attracting looks of superiority from other cyclists.

This entry was posted in Favourite things, France, Musings, Travel and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

8 Responses to FreeWheeling

  1. Colline says:

    You will love The Netherlands then. There cycling is definitely a family affair. I saw moms and dads cycling with their children on their bikes – the bicycle was their mode of transport. What was great were the lanes dedicated to cyclists only.

    Like

    • Madoqua says:

      I believe the Netherlands is cycling heaven! We were going to try to get to Amsterdam this trip, but it did not work out that way.
      Next time though! I am really looking forward to it!

      Like

  2. I know exactly what you mean! It was amazing – and wonderful – the other day to see a young woman in her work gear riding to the library during her lunch break. Of course, she had to wear her helmet, but otherwise she made no compromises – though I must confess she wasn’t wearing ladder-high stilettos. 🙂

    Like

    • Madoqua says:

      I had to have a giggle at the thought of someone wearing stilletos on a bike, although I am sure the French or Dutch would manage fine!
      I would have loved to see your lady cyclist.
      Things are changing where I live, but we are a long way off having more casual cyclists than training cyclists.

      Like

      • I’m sure ‘my’ girl was an outstanding exception to the lycra clad mob I see everywhere exercising on their bikes here. It’s such a shame they’ve become exercise machines rather than a breezy way of getting around, but I was thrilled to see that even Brisbane has street bike rentals like the big European cities.

        Like

        • Madoqua says:

          Wow, that is very impressive! Having bikes to hire might be just the incentive I need to visit Brisbane. Last time I was there, I was impressed by the bike lanes in the area whee I was staying, but did not see any bikes for rent, so that is quite exciting.

          Like

      • PS Just heard Boris Johnson talking about bikes being a way of emulating village life, with helmetlessness being the epitome of that sense of freedom and safety that we associate with villages.

        Like

        • Madoqua says:

          That is interesting. I have always been in favour of wearing a helmet if I ride on the road (my head is worth a lot to me!), but I did ride helmetless on some of the cycle tracks in France. It was awesome!

          Like

This space is for you.....

