A world of letters

My last post described a fascinating work of art by Jaume Plensa which I came across while in a delightful botanical garden. It had taken all morning to explore the large garden areas and we then headed into the city centre in Bordeaux to find some lunch. In one of the local squares which are so plentiful, yet so full of character and each quite unique I came across another of Plensa’s works.

Globe4

“Self-Portrait” by Jaume Plensa (2013)

Globe3This one was quite different. Equally intriguing and adding a strong focal point to what was already an attractive city space.

I was again fascinated and this time I read the whole information board, instead of just the section describing the feature. It was at this point I realised that I had been seeing quite a number of these cultural artifacts in my cycling tours around the city, I just had not realised that they were part of a collection.

This lovely big globe is called “Self-Portrait” and was completed in 2013, so is only very new. The interpretive sign reads as follows:

“In a meditative position, kneeling inside a sphere composed of letters, words and various signs, Plensa finds himself at the centre of a vast system. This work invites the public to discover the universality of language, the diversity of cultures and the interconnection between human beings. Situated at the heart of a thriving quarter, it initiates a dialogue with the public against a backdrop of humanism.”

Globe2

Whilst I can see what the artist is conveying in this work, I liked it a lot because of it’s simple shapes, yet complex construction; but then perhaps that was the interpretation we were supposed to get! It was difficult to photograph and do it justice, particularly as the background was “very busy” in almost every direction.

What do you think? Do you like it?

Globe1
 
 
 
This entry was posted in France, Odds & ends, Travel and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

11 Responses to A world of letters

  1. scrapydo says:

    I’ve been missing out on your last posts. I have another post box that I want to add.

    Like

  2. restlessjo says:

    Confused by the above, but I’ll go take a look at Scrappy next. I love these kinds of modern sculptures, Madoqua. 🙂

    Like

    • Madoqua says:

      Apologies for the confusion, but Scrapydo’s comments actually belong with the “Amazing Mailbox Quest”.
      All of this series of sculptures that I came across were really awesome. Unfortunately, I was not able to get to all eleven in the time I had. I am pleased you like them.

      Like

  3. Pingback: Literature: The must have fashion accessory… | Dawn of the Unread

  4. restlessjo says:

    I’ve seen all 3 posts now and I really like his work. Thanks for pointing them out 🙂

    Like

This space is for you.....

