Focus up close

I am constantly amazed at the variety of ecological microhabitats that become the subject of many posts by fellow bloggers. I am not sure whether these people spend a lot of time searching for these subjects or whether they just appear and the discerning photographer grabs each opportunity 🙂

But it is a skill that I have decided I need to acquire.

So while I was recently waiting for some fellow travellers while on a cycle track next to the Rhône River in France, I decided to search for something suitable for a macro photo. This is what I found in the herbage beside the trail. I am not sure what this plant is, or whether it is native to the area, but I think it is some sort of thistle.

20130810-145144.jpg

20130810-145152.jpg

20130810-145139.jpg

I like the result! I will look more closely at the sides of tracks and paths in future!

This entry was posted in Favourite things, Odds & ends, Travel and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

11 Responses to Focus up close

  1. Colline says:

    I think we just need to become more aware of our surroundings and photo opportunities will present themselves.

    Like

  2. scrapydo says:

    I am much like you. Always on the go and most of the time I see something interesting but don’t take the time to really go into it.

    Like

  3. restlessjo says:

    Our plants and habitat provide endless inspiration. I try to fit in leisurely strolls as well as the mad gallop that is usually life. 🙂 Nice shots!

    Like

This space is for you.....

