Take me to Africa….

Every now and again, life gets incredibly frustrating and I feel a deep need to escape from the daily grind. This past week has turned out to be one of those times.

Where surviving in a niche ecosystem means just that!

Where surviving in a niche ecosystem means just that!

To get away from the complexities of our modern societies where protocols and rules seem to govern everything and common sense seems a forgotten concept.

The total innocence and uncomplicated intent of nature is what appeals to me about national parks anywhere in the world. I find the exploring the landscapes, finding plants and watching wild animals go about their business, to be wonderfully relaxing and de-stressing.

I have a delightful T Shirt which sports a zebra with its stripes coming unravelled. The caption reads “Feeling stressed? Unwind in Kruger National Park”!

Sadly, I can’t get to Kruger for a dose of this wonderful medicine at present, so this photographic tribute will need to suffice. If you are feeling a tad stressed as well, I hope you too will enjoy my selection of images.

Where zebra are left hanging in a nearby tree - a leopard's dinner for tomorrow

Where zebra can be found hanging in trees – the kill being closely watched by a leopard lying behind the rocks to the centre left. 

Where sunsets are beautiful if very noisy affairs (thanks to the hippos playing in the water below)

Where sunsets are beautiful if very noisy affairs (thanks to the hippos playing in the water below)

Where having a catnap in the grass can be a risky affair!

Where having a catnap in the grass can be a risky affair!

Where "big" means "very big" and "little" means "big"!

Where “big” means “very big” and “little” means “big”!

Where big cats have big dinners and I would personally rather not be on the menu!

Where big cats have big dinners and I would personally rather not be on the menu!

Where the trees appear to grow upside down with their "roots" in the air

Where fascinating ancient Baobab trees appear to grow upside down with their “roots” in the air!

This entry was posted in Africa, Favourite things, Kruger National Park, Odds & ends, Travel, Wildlife and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

10 Responses to Take me to Africa….

  1. Ian Fraser says:

    Bother you Madoqua! I now feel restless and want to GO!!!! Fabulous photos.

    Like

  2. I wish I was back in Africa most of the time! Hell, most days I’d simply settle for some sunshine and wilderness anywhere 🙂

    Like

  3. Aah…it has been a while since I have been in the Kruger, and I miss it a lot. Beautiful pics!

    Like

    • Madoqua says:

      Thank you – it is one of my favourite places and one where I could spend many happy weeks just watching, listening and enjoying nature at her best!

      Like

This space is for you.....

