Fleeting encounters – lifelong memories

What is it, I wonder, that makes some memories more vivid and alive than others? I am not referring to major episodes here. I am referring to ordinary, everyday events that just “stay with us” for some reason.

An example of one such memory of mine is the day I spent with a lovely lady at the miniature village on the Isle of Wight (England). I met her when we shared a breakfast table at the B & B where we had stayed the night. It turned out that we were both headed to the same tourist destination for the day and we decided to go together. We subsequently spent the entire day enjoying each other’s company.

The detail in the models was extraordinary.

The detail in the miniature village models was extraordinary.

I do not recall the lady’s name (it was quite a few decades ago now!) but I do remember where she came from (she was a tourist as was I).

Living flowers were blooming in the gardens - specially chosen to fit the scale of the setting.

Living flowers were blooming in the gardens – specially chosen to fit the scale of the setting.

We both thoroughly enjoyed the miniature village and having each other to chat to as we marvelled over the loveliness of each little setting.

Wight1 At the end of the day, she went her way and I went mine and we never saw each other again. However that wonderful day remains etched on my memory as if it were only yesterday! I wonder if my friend remembers it so fondly. I hope so.

The Isle of Wight was where I saw a Clematis flower for the first time. They are now one of my favourite plants.

The Isle of Wight was where I saw a Clematis flower for the first time. They are now one of my favourite plants.

Have you ever had an experience like this?

Can you remember it vividly even though it was a long while ago?

This entry was posted in Musings, Odds & ends, Travel and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

15 Responses to Fleeting encounters – lifelong memories

  1. mudlips says:

    My experience with something like that has been on bike tours. Two individuals come to mind for me; one I met in the Redwoods as I was headed south to SF by bike. She was from Germany and doing the whole Alaska to Mexico trip. We rode at different paces but camped at the same camp ground for 4 nights in a row, so shared a table, food, and stories of the day, becoming friends until our routes took us in different directions. Another I met riding from SF to Santa Barbara. Same process, although I rode a bit more with him. I have photos of both, but no contact info. I absolutely enjoyed their friendship while our paths were concurrent and I will always remember both of these folks fondly for the enrichment they gave each day through their good company in camp.

    Like

    • Madoqua says:

      What a wonderful experience both times – there is something about “free friendship” that is so special. People sharing time, knowledge and experiences without any strings or expectations.
      Someone recently commented to me that the most valuable gift one can give to another is some of one’s time. Perhaps that is what makes these “life encounters” so special – stopping for a while to exchange/share some time.

      Like

      • mudlips says:

        It’s one of the reasons I love bike travel, and solo travel. More people perceive you as approachable. And while it can be challenging when someone strikes up a conversation just as you’re about ready to roll, it still gives testimony to the gregarious nature of most people.

        Like

  2. ledrakenoir says:

    Beautiful photos, very well captured… ๐Ÿ™‚

    Like

    • Madoqua says:

      I am delighted that you enjoyed the photos Le Drake! I really enjoy miniature towns and villages. I was recently in Hamburg (Germany) and was fascinated by the enormous model train layout they have there. I could have spent hours peering at all the detail!

      Like

  3. ugoagadauyah says:

    Lovely pictures.

    Like

  4. Its always an unexpected pleasure to come across people you can get along with so easily like that – we’ve been lucky with couples we bumped into in Uganda, guides and lodge managers we were lucky to meet, couples at home (on a “roar and snore” night camping in the zoo) and singles we’ve travelled with or met along the way.

    My first ever night on safari felt like it lasted a lifetime (not just because I spent the first half being terribly ill!) – we all seemed to be friends sharing stories about life and adventure, knowing we were all moving on in the morning.

    Like

    • Madoqua says:

      A “roar and snore” sounds like terrific fun!
      I am envious of your travels in central Africa, those places are on my bucket list!
      What a shame you went on safari and got sick – very bad timing!
      Thanks for your lovely responses!

      Like

      • I get sick in most places I travel to! Never stops me ๐Ÿ˜‰ dehydration sickness was a little unexpected in South Africa though! Often other times its been a bad reaction to anti malarial tablets.

        Roar and snore was great fun, we went for 2 years. Brilliant being woken up by the roar of lions, chatter of chimps, hullabaloo of gibbons and a grumpy donkey ๐Ÿ˜‰

        Like

  5. restlessjo says:

    I’ve visited this miniature village too- many, many years ago. How strange if the lady were to read your blog and think “I remember!”
    That very clematis is flowering its socks off in our garden right now. ๐Ÿ™‚

    Like

    • Madoqua says:

      How about that for a coincidence! It was a lovely day and I really enjoyed the miniature village!
      I would be delighted if my friend were to remember the day too, but I will probably never know!

      Like

This space is for you.....

