Weekly photo challenge: up (a gum tree)

My last post showed lovely contrasting autumn foliage on the trees near where I live. I could not help but consider yet another contrast – that between the brightly coloured deciduous exotic trees and the unchanging grey-greens of our native Eucalyptus species.

GumTree4

Eucalyptus trees seem to largely ignore the changing of the seasons. However, subtle differences are there if one cares to look closely enough. It was this close examination of some of the gum trees* in our street which prompted me to look up and take some photos of the bi-coloured trunks of these amazing plants.

Have you ever taken the time to look up a tree from the base of the trunk? It is a very different perspective and one that we rarely take the time to enjoy (probably because passers-by do tend to give one rather strange looks!)

Here then, is a photographic study of (looking) up a gum tree! This particular specimen is growing not far from all the lovely red and green foliage of my previous post.

This post was written as a response to the Daily Post Weekly Photo Challenge: Up

(* “Gum trees” usually refer to Eucalyptus species that have smooth bark).

This entry was posted in Odds & ends, Weekly challenges and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

19 Responses to Weekly photo challenge: up (a gum tree)

  1. Amy says:

    Nice perspectives. Beautiful trees.

    Like

  2. Pingback: Weekly Photo Challenge: (Look) Up | Radical Amazement

  3. Pingback: Weekly Photo Challenge: Up | Nature's Walk Photography

  4. This is really beautiful ‘up’ , very inspired me. @Madoqua thanks for visiting, regards

    Like

  5. How clever of you to notice gum trees have subtle changes with the seasons, I wouldn’t have thought they changed at all!

    Like

  6. Yes, it’s totally crazy what you notice when you take the time to look up trees! Last summer I took a really close look inside my backyard bauhinia when I was trying to find a bird whose chirp I didn’t recognize. I never did see the bird, but I saw a really well camouflaged nest that I never knew was there!
    great pics for this week’s challenge!

    Like

    • Madoqua says:

      It is quite amazing where birds hide their nests. I too have come across a few well after they have been used!
      I was astounded at the snake you found recently in your garden too! I am not fond of those animals!

      Like

  7. Pingback: Gum trees | Branching Out

  8. restlessjo says:

    Such a lovely colour these gum trees. I love the way you’ve captured the light on them.
    Your flaming Autumn trees are glorious too, and belated congrats on your birthday blog. 🙂

    Like

  9. KnitNell says:

    On my last visit to the Wisley Gardens here in the UK I took a lot of photos of looking up at the wonderful trees rather than straight on. I got some lovely shots.

    Like

    • Madoqua says:

      Oh, those must be superb photos! I have been to the Wisely Gardens, a friend took me specially as he knew I was interested in plants. It is an amazing and lovely place.

      Like

  10. scrapydo says:

    Gum trees are my favourite. Love your photos I feel like painting them!

    Like

This space is for you.....

