Something ‘new’ – for the first post of 2013

Clematis 'Gypsy Queen'

Clematis ‘Gypsy Queen’

I have had the most exquisite climbing plant in my garden for some years now. It is deciduous and during winter, the scrappy, untidy twigs that form its stems look dead and very uninteresting. But come the spring, it bursts forth into a mass of the most amazing deep purple/magenta blooms (about 12cm (5″) in diameter) that I have ever seen.

Clematis 'Gypsy Queen'

Clematis ‘Gypsy Queen’

This plant really is worth growing simply for the colour of its flowers, which can vary quite a lot depending on the age of the flower. Both photos above are of the same plant! The plant is called Clematis ‘Gypsy Queen’.

To be honest, I must admit that I have a weakness for all types of Clematis plants. Only one of the few Clematis species that are native to Australia occurs near where I live and it has small very non-spectacular flowers. But the special cultivars that someone keeps developing (to tempt flower lovers like me 🙂 ) are just gorgeous. I succumbed last year and purchased a pure white variety to twine in amongst the ‘Gypsy Queen’.

I have been waiting patiently for this newcomer to flower (amidst the masses of magenta!) and had just about given up when I found this – a single bloom!

Clematis

White Clematis ‘Pope John Paul’

Clematis

White Clematis ‘Pope John Paul’

And a few days later….. a few more!

Ailsa has set a challenge to post something ‘new’ on her blog Where’s my backpack?

Well, here it is – for the first post of the New Year, and for you to also enjoy – my new white Clematis!

Happy New Year to everyone!

This entry was posted in Image Gallery, Odds & ends, Weekly challenges and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

15 Responses to Something ‘new’ – for the first post of 2013

  1. A very Happy New Year to you too ! Such a beautiful flower 🙂

    Like

  2. drawandshoot says:

    So opposite of what’s happening here – the snowflakes are in bloom…
    Beautiful blooms! Happy New Year.

    Like

    • Madoqua says:

      I have been very much admiring your exquisite photos of the winter snowflakes. I did not think that ice crystals actually existed because I have never seen any! Do you get them often where you live?

      Like

      • drawandshoot says:

        Yes! We have a lot of snow at the moment and it will stay until March/April. The snowflakes are best photographed fresh because they break down quite quickly.

        Like

        • Madoqua says:

          They are so beautiful. I don’t like the cold, but I will travel a long way to see something like that! I look forward to seeing some more of your lovely photos as the season progresses!

          Like

  3. Ian Fraser says:

    Hi there, and a happy 2013 to you too. That is a dramatic Clematis – I must confess I didn’t know they came in other than white! You’re selling Australian Clematis a bit short though (in my opinion only of course!); we’ve got about 8 species, and you should have a couple of them down your way, one of which (C. aristata) is pretty showy.

    Like

    • Madoqua says:

      Ian, yes, the C aristata is showy when massed and all in bloom at once. But there are some exotic versions that really appeal to me as a gardener and the ‘designer’ Clematis varieties are some of these! Gloriosa superba (Flame Lily) is another plant which I am very fond of and have been since a child. It is simply exquisite.

      Like

  4. Pingback: travel theme: new « my sweetpainteddreams

  5. a long long time ago, i helped my father with some yard work (in mississippi) after my mother died. he told me to pick out something in the nursery for my yard (300 miles away in louisiana) and i selected an ugly black plastic pot with a short stumpy dead-looking clipped off vine. he looked at me as if i had lost my mind!

    when i returned home, i planted it at the base of a concrete porch area, and the ‘dutchess’ climed up the trellis. she bloomed with all of her might that first spring and was covered with the lovely white blossoms. it was great to photograph the mass of white blooms and send it to my father!

    i’ve not seen clematis in a long long time, and it was nice to see these images on your post!

    lisa/z from ecuador!

    Like

    • Madoqua says:

      Lisa, what a wonderful story – and how great to be able to send those photos to your Dad! They are strange plants in that they are so ugly in winter and magnificent in the summer!

      Like

  6. Sartenada says:

    Clematis is beautiful. We have had them in our small flower garden, but they died slowly over the years.

    Like

  7. restlessjo says:

    Love clematis in all their many colours. I’d fill the garden with them.

    Like

    • Madoqua says:

      Here are some exquisite colours available – I too, could fill the garden with them! But the special ones are quite pricey, so I will have to wait until I have the time to care for them properly!

      Like

This space is for you.....

