Going around another corner (Year: 2012)

This year, like all of those that have gone before, has been a very busy one for me and it has just gone past so fast. But it has been a pivotal year for me too. By that I mean that I have made some decisions that have changed the direction of my part of my life’s focus and interests and I am rather happy with the outcome.

Baby Cartoon

Baby Cartoon (Photo credit: Ian Kershaw)

There are times in one’s life when things change. Leaving school, starting a regular job, getting married, having children (particularly the first!) and perhaps then returning to work after the littlies have all started school. These are all corners in life when the day-to-day patterns can change and sometimes that change can be quite drastic.

But not all change is bad, in fact that is what makes life interesting. So mostly, I am happy to embrace a new way of doing things, as long as I am convinced it is change for the better!

Anxious Pile #ds390

Anxious Pile #ds390 (Photo credit: brendan-c)

My issue earlier in the year was that I was getting into the bad habit of bringing my work home, and it was gradually taking over my down time in the evenings. I did not need to work at home, it was something that started in a small way and gradually got bigger. This was not good and something had to be done about it!

Since have travelled quite a bit and lived in lots of different places over the years, I have accumulated quite a collection of photos, diaries and associated items. What I needed was a way of organising the photos and their stories and putting them together into a series of short articles. I have wanted to do this for years, and had variously tried short videos, webpages and even simple printed documents, but none really did what I was trying to achieve.

mappa_blog

mappa_blog (Photo credit: francescopozzi)

I had briefly toyed with blogs before, but never seemed to really get all the components together properly and they were eventually discontinued. But this time round, it just all seemed to work well. And so around another lifestyle corner I went and “Have you ever…” was born!

Unfortunately, I am hampered by an appalling internet link which often refuses to load a page, much less show any images on said page, which makes uploading my own and responding to other blogs sometimes very slow and problematic. However, that is just the way it is!

Have you ever - header image

Have you ever – header image

Even though I have been blogging for 9 months now, I like experimenting with things and often end up breaking my blog links (etc) as a result. If this causes you frustration, I apologise, but trying out new things is also a big part of the deal for me!

Turning the corner and starting this (and my cycling blog) have certainly opened a whole new world of e-friends, windows on other people’s lives and stories by others which I really enjoy.

This article was posted (a tad late, but never mind!) in reply to the Weekly Writing Challenge: Wrap It Up.

This entry was posted in Odds & ends, Weekly challenges and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

8 Responses to Going around another corner (Year: 2012)

  1. scrapydo says:

    Well wrapped up! 🙂

    Like

This space is for you.....

