Heavenly cheesecake – a family tradition

Cheescake1

There are some things that live on, year after year, generation after generation. In our family, birthdays have always been special. On that day, you do not have to do any of the regular chores around the house and you get to choose the menu for your birthday dinner. For the past few decades, the traditional birthday cake in our family has been/is a cheesecake.

Cheescake

Original recipe. See the bottom of post for the tidy version with a few tips!

Not just any ordinary cheesecake, but the one that I got from my Gran. Ironically, she never cooked this recipe and I doubt she ever even tasted it.

It was over 30 years ago that she purchased a small cook book and gave it to me as a Christmas gift. She jokingly commented that I could try some of the recipes (if I ever learned to cook – it bothered her that I did not frequent the kitchen much!) The booklet was actually a school fundraising project put together by parents of primary school aged children, then sold to friends and school associates.

Grandma - the lady who gave me the book with the original recipe

Gran – the wonderful lady who gave me the book with the original recipe. Totally unaware she had founded a future tradition in a family she would sadly never meet.

The recipe in my box is still the original page (cut out of the book and pasted on a card in my card index system). Over the years, it has become splattered with spilled ingredients – a work of ‘culinary art’ which is still being added to every time a birthday comes around!

This is not like any other cheesecake I have ever eaten. I find most are heavy and very rich. This version is light, fluffy and absolutely delicious. I do not know who first created it – only that it is recipe number 92. It is the only recipe that I kept out of the hundred or so that were in the booklet!

I spend a few moments thinking about my Gran every time I make a cheesecake – it is a lovely way to remember her. And my family are convinced that no one makes this cheesecake like I do (which is very good for my ego!) So I must have developed some culinary skills somewhere along the way. My Gran would have been relieved 🙂

I have put the recipe onto a separate page to make it easier to print if you wish to do this. I would love to hear back from you if you decide to try it – who knows, it could start a tradition in your family too!

This entry was posted in Favourite things, Odds & ends and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

6 Responses to Heavenly cheesecake – a family tradition

  1. adinparadise says:

    How lovely to remember your Gran in this way. The cheesecake looks wonderful. 🙂

    Like

    • Madoqua says:

      Thank you Ad. It is a nice way to remember her. There are so many things I would have liked to know about her. She lived through so much, but told us very little. Young people don’t think to ask these things until they too, have many years of living to draw on. Then it is often too late.

      Like

  2. mudlips says:

    Lovely nod to family and traditions. Is it somebody’s Birthday?

    Like

    • Madoqua says:

      Thanks Mudlips! No, no birthday, just a discussion I was having with Lisa (notesfromafrica.wordpress.com) about cheesecake and I promised I would post this recipe!
      I have been thinking about it for a while as the original card gets used so often, one day it may get lost! Also, when I get asked for the recipe, I can now direct folks to this post 🙂

      Like

  3. What a sensible family you have making cheesecake the “official cake”! 🙂

    Like

This space is for you.....

