Dates, drafts and posts – an apology

I recently found out something about the “draft” status of WordPress posts. I frequently start a post, then save it as a draft until I can add images, before final publishing.

This was the case with my most recent post “Decorate your branch of the family tree”. When I finally published it, I assumed it would update the date of publication (and hence the name of the link to the post). But this did not happen – it kept the original date when the draft was first saved.

The result? My published post appeared in my archives instead of where it should have been! Realising what had happened, I then manually edited the date to make the post go to the top of the list. Too late, it dawned on me that this would break the link which had been emailed out to everyone 😦

If you are someone who also uses draft posts before publishing, could I suggest that you check that the date is correct before pressing the “Publish” button!

And for everyone who got an email with a broken link, please accept my apologies for adding unnecessarily to your inbox. The correct link for this post is:
https://madoqua.wordpress.com/2012/09/19/decorate-your-branch-of-the-family-tree/

I hope you will enjoy the post this time!

20120920-190916.jpg

This entry was posted in Odds & ends and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

6 Responses to Dates, drafts and posts – an apology

  1. Great tip. I didn’t know this. Thanks for sharing.

    BE ENCOURAGED! BE BLESSED!

    Like

  2. Tahira says:

    Thank you for the heads-up! I very often use the draft.

    Like

  3. Angelia Sims says:

    Oh shoot! That is good to know. I would have done the same thing. Love the photo. 🙂

    Like

This space is for you.....

