Music in pictures: See the world in reflection

I was never a great musician and I am reliably informed that my singing is awful too (but it sounds just fine to me!). However, I do enjoy lovely music and find that the right tunes can really help when I am trying to concentrate and work hard on a task.

Elisa posed a musical challenge to interpret the song See the world by Gomez. I had not heard the music before and I really did not have any pictures which seemed to fit the theme. However, after a lot of thought, I have found the following photograph which I took on a recent tour in Tasmania and thought I could have a bit of fun with it!

More reflections in a pool

Reflections in a small forest pool

Above is a photo I took of a lovely forest scene reflected in a pool. Without looking at the image below, think about what impresses you most about this image.

Seeing the world is really so reliant on how you interpret what you see as you go through life. Two individuals looking at the same scene, event, photo, image or movie can take a totally different message from it! What you will see depends critically on what is most important to you, the viewer.

The thing that really impressed me when I took it was that the water was very still – so still that the reflection was perfectly mirrored.

Now look at my photo again in the image below. What is different about this second photo?

More reflections in a pool

More reflections in a small forest pool

Did you notice that one was upside down? Which one is the right way up? Did your assumption that all trees must obviously grow up (not down!) influence your choice? Or did you become immediately suspicious and start looking for something extra? What you interpreted is reflective of how you see the world!

It is quite coincidental that I have decided to use this image for this post, as Jake has chosen the theme Reflections for his Sunday Post topic as well! So you can check out lots more reflections at his blog as well as dropping by Elisa’s “Autumn in Bruges” site to post your interpretation of See the world! All of you who are musically inclined (or not, like me!) – why not put up your version of this challenging quest!

This entry was posted in Music, Odds & ends, Travel, Weekly challenges and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

12 Responses to Music in pictures: See the world in reflection

  1. jakesprinter says:

    Great work for this week topic my friend ,Thanks for posting 🙂

    Like

  2. adinparadise says:

    Beautiful, magical photo. Madoqua. Perfect for the theme. 🙂

    Like

  3. scrapydo says:

    This is beautiful. As soon as you start looking around you find the most amazing things you can imagine.

    Like

  4. Beautiful photo. I liked the one green fern leaf to clue us in that we were reflecting upon two worlds.

    Like

  5. Jo Bryant says:

    These are great…I think the first one is the way the world should be – upside down when ever possible

    Like

  6. jesswyatt says:

    I like your title ‘Music in pictures’ – a reflection of it, pictures in music, is what we try to achieve when we play music…. In fact lots of pieces of classical music are inspired by scenes, stories, or directly by pictures, like Vivaldi’s Four Seasons (one of the earliest examples), Night on a Bare Mountain by Rimsky-Korsakov or Pictures at an Exhibition by Mussorgsky.

    Like

    • Madoqua says:

      Thanks for your lovely response. I must confess that I am not the original creator of “Music in pictures” – that accolade must go to Elisa, who had this topic running as a challenge each week. If you are interested you can check out other entries on Lisa’s blogsite. A search should bring up the topics and various entries.

      Like

This space is for you.....

