Precious elephants not extinct!

Today I had some fantastic news! I had previously posted about a place that is very special to me – the Knysna Forests. The last time I was in the area (this was some years ago now), I was told that the elephant population that used to live in the forest was extinct. I found this very sad. If you missed this post, you can read about it here: No more elephants.

However, I had a visitor to my blog in the last few days who came with some very exciting news! Shadreyer who hosts the blogsite  Loves and life on the Garden Route in South Africa commented that a small group of elephants had been discovered living and reproducing in a very remote part of the forest!

She also left the following information in her comment:

“We still have elephants in the forest and very occasionally there is a sighting. The Knysna forest is extremely dense and huge so it is difficult to tell but conservationist Gareth Patterson has been researching them and indeed they are not extinct-yet
http://www.garethpatterson.com/Gareth_Patterson/News.html
Shadreyer (Aug 27, 2012)

If you are interested in reading more about this amazing discovery, please have a look at Gareth Patterson’s site.

To celebrate this wonderful news, I thought I would post some photos of elephants (not from Knysna, obviously, these are from Kruger).

A wonderful sight - a baby elephant following its mother

A wonderful sight – a baby elephant following its mother

And now that I know there are some elephants still in the area, I will go back to peering into the forest on the rare occasions I get back to Knysna. I could be just so lucky – who can tell!

It does not take much bush to hide an elephant

It does not take much bush to hide an elephant – if I keep looking into the forest, who knows!

This entry was posted in Africa, South Africa, Wildlife and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

17 Responses to Precious elephants not extinct!

  1. Tahira says:

    This is wonderful news! And how exciting for you. The pictures are amazing, I love the one with the baby elephant. BEYOND adorable! Thanks for sharing this great news.

    Like

    • Madoqua says:

      Tahira, isn’t it great! I am so delighted, elephants are such lovely animals and these are more special than most.
      The baby elephant is cute, isn’t it? They are so funny to watch as they try to keep up with the bigger animals 🙂

      Like

  2. Yes, there are still elephants there, but with a very small population I wonder if they can keep going? Some years ago they introduced some other elephants there – with the hope of building up the population – but that didn’t work out too well.

    Like

    • Madoqua says:

      I heard about that experiment. I wonder why it didn’t work? But hopefully the animals that are left are able to reproduce and build up in numbers. Not great for genetic diversity, though, but perhaps the herd never was very genetically diverse anyway.

      Like

      • As far as I can remember . . . They brought in elephants from one of the national parks, which (a) didn’t bond with the Knysna elephant group, and (b) came out of the forest and caused some chaos.

        Like

        • Madoqua says:

          I guess it’s understandable really, and in the interests of preserving the genetics of the original group, probably best that it didn’t work. I assume they took the imported elephants back where they came from?

          Like

          • I read somewhere that the Knysna elephants are regular African elephants, which is why they thought it would work to bring in a new group. They did remove the new elephants, but I’m not sure where to.

            Like

  3. scrapydo says:

    This is really good news. So glad that there might be some elephants still in the forest.

    Like

  4. kevinmayne says:

    This is what makes blogging special – where else would I have heard this. Uplifting news even in elephant free Europe!

    Like

This space is for you.....

