Weekly photo challenge: Purple

Sunset at “Nullegai”

This is not a very good photo as it was taken many years ago and my photography skills were rather poor! I wondered about the authenticity of the colour, but when I look at other photos of the same sunset, they do have the same intense hues. I have posted it here in response to the weekly photo challenge of: Purple!

Despite its quality, this photo means a lot to me because of the big dead tree silhouetted in the foreground. This tree was one of very few ‘stags’ (dead standing trees) on our farm and even though it was eyed keenly by many firewood gatherers, it was not allowed to be cut down. The reasons were twofold. Firstly, I thought it was very beautiful, even though it was dead. Secondly, it was home to many birds and small mammals that lived in its hollows.

(The darker shadows behind the tree are other living trees that were growing further back on the horizon).

This entry was posted in Weekly challenges and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

18 Responses to Weekly photo challenge: Purple

  1. Love the story of the tree. I nearly posted a sunset as well, they do have a purple hue to them, but instead went with some flowers.

    Like

    • Madoqua says:

      Thanks for coming by and appreciating ‘my’ tree 🙂
      Purple is an interesting colour – interpreted differently by people. I nearly posted a Clematis flower, but my tree won the day!

      Like

  2. Madelaine says:

    Stunning photo!

    Like

  3. mudlips says:

    I like the term “stags”. Is it also used on standing stumps-dead branchless trees? We call this “snags” in the US.
    …and those colors are amazing.

    Like

    • Madoqua says:

      The term ‘stags’ applied to all standing, dead trees. So even when there is only a trunk left, it is still a stag. We use ‘snags’ when speaking of dead timber in rivers, streams and billabongs – so when associated with water habitats.
      (‘Snags’ are also sausages on a BBQ!)

      Like

      • mudlips says:

        Thanks – I like that much better than our terminology. We (Americans) don’t have such an elegant term for wood in aquatic habitats – it’s usually referred to as woody debris or large wood. I’ve never liked the former as it has a connotation of junk/garbage, which it is NOT.
        I’d never heard of snags to eat! But next time I’m at a BBQ in Australia, I’ll know what to ask for.

        Like

        • Madoqua says:

          It’s interesting how different cultures use different words for things, even when the language is the same (in this case English, of course). I think ‘snag’ has its origins with things getting stuck (snagged) in waterways. We do also use the term woody debris, but they are interchangeable.

          Like

  4. I think it’s a beautiful image – I love the silhouette, and the way the gold-orange and the purple complement one another!

    Like

  5. ausurfer says:

    Great photo — I never tire of sunsets. Where was this taken?

    Like

  6. Pingback: Weekly photo challenege: “Purple” (The colour purple – A story ) « Just another wake-up call

  7. semprevento says:

    This picture is beautiful …
    It is perfect the way with its nuances.
    I love trees in all their forms. A pity that the tree is dead. I was hoping it was the fall ….
    A memory to hold very dear.
    Congratulations for your blog
    vento

    Like

    • Madoqua says:

      Thank you for your visit and comment. We have very few native trees here that drop their leaves each season. However, I have planted lots of this species over the years. The seed is very tiny and they grow so big!

      Like

  8. I love the image, but I love the story even more. Rare is the person who will stand up for and fight for habitat for wildlife! You’ve brought awareness to the importance of ‘stags’ in the ecosystem! Thanks for the new word! Z

    Like

    • Madoqua says:

      Thank you for your appreciation of my story about the old tree. I enjoy restoring habitat in degraded environments, but if preservation is possible, it’s far easier!

      Like

  9. Pingback: Weekly Photo Challenge: Merge, Wrong & Purple | Tay in Europe

This space is for you.....

