The best thing about winter

As I write this, it is raining heavily. This is most unusual for our climate and it is lovely.We are now well into winter, with July and August generally being our coldest months. I am not fond of the cold, so winter is my least favourite season. Mostly, my frustration arises because I have trouble finding clothes that can keep me warm without turning me into a bulky, woolly wrapped blob.

Snow flurries around tall alpine Eucalyptus trees

However, there are some things that I do like about winter. On clear crispy winter days, I can see the snow on the southern alps, some two hours drive away from where I live. It is like bright shiny icing atop the mountains and contrasts beautifully with the intense blue of the sky. It may surprise many that it snows in Australia, and that do we have great ski fields – just not very many of them! I enjoy snow skiing immensely, but it is expensive, and the slopes get quite congested, so I have not been for a few years now.

There is no doubt that one of the best things about winter is being able to sit near an open log fire, enjoying a hot meal and a glass of good wine! A local restaurant must know of my appreciation as there is inevitably a spot near their fire when I call in for a meal (or perhaps I have just been lucky :-)).

Some years ago I was living on a farm and was responsible for checking on the lambing ewes through the winter months. On calm evenings, this was a most rewarding job. Everything was still and quiet with a hint of woodsmoke from the farmhouse drifting invitingly past every now and again. I loved the peaceful atmosphere – it gave me time to think about all sorts of things!

Snow on a shed roof

It does not snow where I live, but winter is our rainy season. Having said that, it rarely rains heavily for long periods of time as it has done today. Mostly, we get grey drizzly days.

I have always enjoyed wet weather – some of my earliest recollections are of damp days. I suspect that if I lived somewhere where it rained a lot or in a place like Darwin (northern Australia) where it is very humid for half the year, I would not feel this way. But I don’t (live there), so I do (love rain)!

We have recently emerged from a decade of very dry years, when the city water restrictions dictated that watering lawns or gardens and/or washing the car was illegal. After watching large trees everywhere get more and more stressed until many died, I (and all those thirsty roots) are delighted that the rainy winter seasons are now back!

Acacia iteaphylla – the wattle tree that flowers in winter/early spring in our area

Frosty mornings – not great for cycling to work!

However, there are downsides to the winter season too. Cycling to work is not the greatest experience when the temperature has dipped below freezing and the grass is crunchy with frost! I find the short daylight hours challenging too as there never seems to be quite long enough to get things done!

However, about this time of the year, the early flowering wattle trees (Acacia) are starting to bloom, and the exquisite perfume is a reminder that spring is not that far away!

The best thing about winter? For me, it must be that it is followed by spring and glorious summer!

Anyone want to have their say about what you like best about winter?

This entry was posted in The best thing and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

10 Responses to The best thing about winter

  1. mudlips says:

    I love winter too. I love the wild weather. I love the cool temperatures. I love the way the cold air makes you feel SO alive. I love wearing sweaters. I love sitting by the fire in the evening and knitting. It’s nice to be pushed inside (indoors and in mood) by the dark and short days of winter; they provide a good balance to the longer brighter days of summer where being inside is insanity. As the song goes, “To everything…there is a season.”

    Like

    • Madoqua says:

      I am delighted to hear that you are a knitter. I am a knitter/spinner too, although I have not done much since moving to a warmer climate some 10 years ago. I spun and knitted regularly for my family until they told me it did not get cold enough here to wear homespun jumpers!
      However, in the last few months, I have got out my beautiful carded wool, have downloaded a few apps and am all inspired again!

      Like

      • mudlips says:

        Portland is a great town for knitters – lots of great yarn shops and other knitters. When I returned to knitting a few years ago it was a winter activity, then I met a friend who knit along with all of the grand tour bike races (Giro d’Italia, Tour de France, Vuelta a Espana) and I started knitting in the summer too. So, even in the middle of summer (now) you can find me knitting all sorts of wooly items. When I’m not in the mood for words (reading or writing) I’m knitting. Helps keep me sane. You do know about Ravelry don’t you? If not, check it out, lots of inspiration there.

        Like

  2. Madoqua says:

    Well, no, I didn’t know about Ravelry, but have been off to have a look! Thank you so much for telling me about the site – I’m going to enjoy it a lot. Knitting & crochet is not a popular hobby where I live now,so this website will be a good place to get inspired.

    Like

  3. trishworth says:

    I don’t like winter. Today is 1st September, the official start of spring, but when I got up this morning it was -1 deg… However, there is something I love every year about winter, and that is its approaching demise signalled by blossoming cherry, plum and apricot trees and wattle trees. These flowers appear at about the same time and are like a promise to me that winter will end.
    P.S. I like your blog and have read heaps of it.

    Like

    • Madoqua says:

      Ooh, minus anything is so cold! We also started spring with a frost, but it has developed into a glorious sunny day 🙂 I agree with you about the blossoming fruit trees – aren’t they just magic!
      Thanks heaps for your lovely comment about my blog – I am delighted that you have enjoyed it so much!

      Like

  4. restlessjo says:

    That acacia is beautiful. Me and Winter don’t get along too well, but there isn’t too much choice in the matter. It comes and it goes, and there’s usually something to look forward to.

    Like

    • Madoqua says:

      Thank you Jo. I must admit I get itchy photographic fingers towards the end of every winter when the Acacias turn on their brilliant colours. I empathise about winter (the post was an effort to look on the right side!). But spring and autumn are glorious where I live, and the summer is delightfully hot!

      Like

  5. I do like winter, as I think I am a winter person. In winter, the oppressive heat and humidity is so far from my mind, I can think. I have energy to do all the crafts, chores, jobs that I have to do plus more. And when it is bitterly cold, ( which is almost never), I can retreat inside and relax in the aroma of the fireplace and candles. It is ridiculous to put them on any other time, just too much heat. I love the rain, the mist and the fog. It is somehow cosily comforting. It does not usually stop me from going out, one just has to have the right clothing. The freshness of a winter morning, has the expectation of a sunnier, warm day, even if it does not turn out that way….

    Like

    • Madoqua says:

      It’s interesting how some people really enjoy chilly days. I wrote this post in an effort to convince myself that winter was a good season, but it didn’t work 😆
      I really feel the cold, and I love our hot, dry summers. I think if we had high humidity, I would not like the season so much.
      But each to their own!

      Like

This space is for you.....

